Epic Relay – Rocky Mountain 2014

I participated in the Epic Rocky Mountain Relay Race with twelve of my friends. The route covered a 190-mile stretch of back roads and mountain passes from Canon City to Crested Butte, CO. Early on, I decided I wouldn’t be running with the team, but rather I would be the team manager to help ease the strain of coordinating team members, registration, and race logistics. On race day, I was a volunteer at one of the exchange stations on the early portion of the race route. I was thrilled as my team came through the exchange, and I was able to shadow them for the remainder of the race.

Above and beyond the perseverance displayed by my team and the incredible terrain and scenery offered by the race course, the most amazing part of the weekend was observing the team bonding that took place during the 27-hour race. Each van developed its own personality and unique level of camaraderie. In the aftermath of the race, the entire group was giddy with excitement talking about their run legs, sleep deprived musings, and bowel movements. It made me so proud to know that I had helped bring this group together, and that we had all built friendships that will last a lifetime, simply amazing.

Post race waterfall hunt with the tireless gang in Crested Butte, CO.

Post race waterfall hunt with the tireless gang in Crested Butte, CO.

Epic Finish Line a t Crested Butte, CO! 27-hours later!

Epic Finish Line a t Crested Butte, CO! 27-hours later!

Saturday Morning along the Epic course en route to Crested Butte

Saturday Morning along the Epic course en route to Crested Butte

Epic Friday Sunset in Salida while volunteering at the Transition Station.

Epic Friday Sunset in Salida while volunteering at the Transition Station.

Leave a Reply

