Greyrock Poudre Canyon FKT

Every time I see the acronym FKT, I ask “why is this person so angry,” shortly thereafter, remembering that I’m obviously reading about trail running, I recall that it stands for Fastest Known Time. FKTs are the slightly less than Guinness Book of World Record equivalent to CRs, or Course Records, which are recorded in road racing.

Nonetheless, I hit the Greyrock Trail northwest of Fort Collins and deep in the heart of the Poudre Canyon. There were two trail offerings from the highway trailhead, both which converged at the base of the rocky peak – commencing a third trail with a challenging rock features shielding the summit. My girlfriend, Julia, and I took separate routes up. She opted for the longer and windier Meadows Trail, and I opted for the shorter and what I hoped would be steeper, Summit Trail. I enjoyed a steep, shaded ascent through the forest, while she trekked through exposed, dusty singletrack that etched up the mountain side. After  I charged up the Summit trail, I looped around to meet her on her side of the Meadows trail. Once I passed her, I continued for a few more minutes, hoping to chase her down en route to the base of the rocky peak trail.

I didn’t want to venture too far in the opposite direction, but the stunning views of rolling hills, a setting sun, and the metallic reflection in the Poudre River made me lose track of time as I kept snapping pictures. I finally chased Julia down a quarter of the way up the rocky path toward the Greyrock summit. There we hiked together into what ended up being a dead-end rock formation, we tried a few different “paths,” but ran out of safe options for gaining the summit. An hour and a half into our journey, we turned around and tip-toed our way back towards the meadow over a sidewalk of pointy rocks.

We enjoyed the decent down the Summit Trail together, basking in it’s shaded trail and less-rocky terrain. The lose dirt and roots caused us a few stubbed toes as our legs grew heavier with each step. Overall, we found the summit trail easier to navigate than the Meadows Trail, thanks to it’s more direct path.

I’m happy to report that despite feeling sluggish on the uphills, I achieved a few Strava CRs on the trail!

Dan Berteletti Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Greyrock Meadows Trail

Dan Berteletti Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Dan Berteletti Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Greyrock trail runners summit

Dan Berteletti Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Greyrock trailhead at Poudre Canyon Hwy 14 Fort Collins

Dan Berteletti Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Dan Berteletti Greyrock Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Hwy 287 to Hwy 14 Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Hwy 287 to Hwy 14 Poudre Canyon Fort Collins

Leave a Reply

