And The Livin’s Easy

Howdy folks! Gonna try to keep it short this Sunday afternoon, since it is strikingly beautiful outside, and I just wanna read my book on the front stoop. On the 4th of July, I published a two part blog (P1 & P2) to cover the supersized weekend and our wild & crazy adventure in WY/MT. I hope you enjoyed the story which included feats of navigational freedom and hydrational deprivation. I also deployed a new method of micro-blogging via Instagram by snipping up P2 into four separate Instagram posts. It took a lot more effort than I realized, so I don’t think I’ll try that again. Though, it was a worthy avenue to publish some of my favorite photos from the trip, after being off-grid for the better part of 3-days.

Taking advantage of a short work week, I managed to get in 90-miles of running on some of my favorite routes.

Wednesday 

After a late (by our standards) night watching fireworks out our living room window while brushing our teeth, Julia and I struggled to get out of bed for the NP5280 wakeup call. We were all thrown off… is it Monday? Is  it Wednesday? Is it really PR Clover Day?

Despite feeling sluggish and with lingering soreness from our trail adventures, we still managed to bring that funk to the Civic Center Amphitheater, and rally the light crowd for 35-minutes of work work.

 

It ended up being a great workout (as PR Clovers always are). It just took a little more oomph to grind out the final minutes.

Thursday 

Collectively, the PlayGldn crew is more coordinated than NSync. We’re either all tapering, recovering from a race, or ready to drop hammers on Dino Ridge. Today was a mix of the former, so we banked an easy day on the road and enjoyed the sunrise amidst our chatter.

 

I ran South Table Mesa home from work. I was listening to The Science of Ultra podcast on Biomechanics with guest Rodger Kram. He’s part of the laboratory team that investigates sports performance at CU Boulder. He had some input towards the shoe development for the Nike Breaking 2 project. It’s pretty awesome to hear about the wild measures they take to test and compare athletic performance. I definitely recommend checking him out on the podcast or reviewing his research findings.

In other thought channels: our favorite Energizer bunny, Ryan Starbuck, was jonesing to compete in the Triple-Bypass bike race this weekend. Unfortunately because of wildfires affecting the Summit County area, the race was cancelled. It’s a tough pill to swallow when a race is cancelled. This has never happened to me, however, I wondered how I would react if such was the case.

How would you react?

As I’ve transitioned to a curated race schedule this year, with a focus on fewer races with high-stakes destinations, there is just always a bit of fear that travel plans can get botched, injury or work commitments will persist, or other factors will cancel a race. There is a lot on the line, mostly financial investment (flights, car rental, hotel, race registration) into a particular race weekend. It’s key to be flexible and understanding of the bones of any situation. Try to make the best of what remains of your travel plans, or scratch together new plans for your now open weekend.

Personally, I would be greatly disappointed to be denied the chance to put my training to the test. It happens. The New York Marathon was cancelled a few years ago when Hurricane Sandy wreaked havoc on the Tri-State area. While I suspect I would scurry to find a replacement race in the following weeks, I don’t know that that is the right response to a natural disaster. I recall some athletes assisting in the relief and cleanup efforts after Sandy, while others retreated to back-up marathons in neighboring states. It’s all a matter of preference and outlook, there is no right or wrong answer, just the ability to roll with the punches.

Friday 

I took advantage of a work-from-home Friday to tackle Lookout Mountain Road for the first time in a while. I planned for a workout of 2×6-miles as I climbed up the hill and finishing down the south side along Colfax Avenue. I gave it a good effort, though I had to stop on the way up to snap this pic:

 

I felt fine pushing through the uphill. My stride felt good and I had the metronome app audible through my waist pouch. It was a challenge to maintain a consistent effort on the uphill for 40+ minutes, and I was glad to persist through it. The effort was much different, not necessarily easier, on the 6-miles of downhill. I’m certain that hard downhill efforts are much more taxing on your musculature, cardiovascular system, and mind than the uphills.

Saturday 

Woo hoo, Aaron’s back in town for 24-hours and he organized a trail run to catch up with his Denver peops. That’s my perfect date option to catch-up with friends, not to mention the opportunity to run the beautiful trails in Eldorado Canyon.

 

After the run, we got coffee at Pangea and soaked in the crisp waters of Clear Creek. My legs felt fantastically revived after the soak, prompting me to want to go for another run! I declined the kind gesture and went for a beer instead. Always a good decision on beautiful, Golden days like these.

Sunday

Since, I took Tuesday off from exercising and I’m presently in the volume stage of training and my legs have recovered so well, I scheduled a Sunday run with myself and BGDH. Butler Gulch Drew Hill is an 11-mile paved to dirt road that runs through Golden Gate Canyon State Park. This is another one of my favorite runs in Golden, and now is the time to pursue the crowd pleasers.

From Bulter Gulch – Drew Hill, with Love.

Summer has been awesome in Golden thus far: trail runs with friends, breathtaking sunrises, flowery landscapes, brisk dips in Clear Creek, velvety cups of coffee, and perfectly pressed burritos. The miles are coming easy, my recovery is just as quick, and my stoke for running is at 11. I’m flexible with in my training schedule, allowing myself the freedom to do runs with friends, or swap rest days while travelling. Nevertheless, I’m doing the work and loving every bit of it. There’s no need to push myself otherwise. I have no pressure, no expectations, just the free flow of consistent running.

Endurance Changes Time,

Turbo

 

 

Leave a Reply

