ECSCA 50K |Wk3| Pelvis and Skippo

It’s been awesome to hear people respond to the Pelvic Tilt post from last week. I certainly hope that y’all investigate a bit more into things that are bothering your running, and share it among your peers. There’s a lot of information out there and it’s hard to filter it down to whats applicable to you. While my pelvic tilt adjustment certainly isn’t the end-all-be-all fix equating to flawless running, it came as a much needed course correction in my running, as the persistent burden of discomfort had me anxiously looking forward to the winter off-season.

I’ve previously made claims to have figured running out and thought that I’d become indestructible. Well the truth in running is that when one thing is corrected another thing goes wrong! That is why consistent running is such a delicate balance of effort, strength, flexibility, and mindfulness.

As a result of last weekend’s powerful running, I woke up quote sore on Monday. The side of my butt cheeks and the outer bottom of my right hamstring were hampering my style. As a result, I watched another YouTube video on causes of IT band strain. Though I don’t think the IT band is my issue, the next course correction for me is preventing my hips from dipping down during each stride. As I said, running is always a work in progress and a pursuit of continuous improvement.

Looking back at the last two months of uncertainty in my running, I wish I had been proactive in finding myself a fix sooner. I had a pain caused by running, I kept running hoping it would disappear, I went to a doctor hoping he would tell me I was fine, I went to the doctor again to get blood drawn to detect any deficiencies, then I went to a PT/Recovery zone and was told what exercises I could do to treat the pain area.

Never did I address the root cause of the pain. Here’s what I should have done: I had a pain caused by running, I should have immediately gotten a running gait analysis for free at a local running shop, I learn the root cause of my pain and identify ways to correct it.

I feel like I know this sequence, and have preached it to others: go get a gait analysis! But this time, I worked backwards to get to the forgone conclusion: if you are experiencing pains running, go get a running gait analysis! It sounds so obvious now, but for a myriad of reasons (stubbornness, self reliance/WebMD, lack of convenience), I dealt with the discomfort way longer than I should have.

I realize how many non-runners out there that say “I’m not a runner” or “I hurt too much when I run” likely have never had their discomforts and pains diagnosed via a gait analysis either by a professional at a running store or a physical therapist.

How many non-runners out there, have tried running for a week or two, struggle with discomfort, and then just throw in the towel and give up? If any non-runner experienced the pain that I had for the last two months, they surely would have said “running is just not for me.”

The moral of the story is that you don’t have to run through pain. Running is fun and adventurous and healthy and takes you to remarkable places both mentally and physically. Everyone deserves the opportunity to enjoy running, and the chance to love running. Go hop on a treadmill, get a gait analysis (it’s fun and informative), purchase the appropriate footwear, and give running another try!

As for my running this week, Monday and Tuesday we’re blah and short running days. As I said, my body felt tired from the weekend, so I scampered into work with as little effort as possible.

On Wednesday, I was finally recharged and ready to run. After working from home, I zipped out the door, past Julia on South Table Mesa, and around the Basalt Cap. 7-ish miles later, I was spent, yet satisfied.

img_4888

Testing out my homemade hydration vest!

On Thursday, we took the PlayGldn gang to the Apex trail to participate in Golden Hell Week – a five day competition, aggregating the 5 trail running peaks in Golden.

I was reminded very quickly how difficult it is to run trails in the pitch dark of the morning, not to mention the crisp air.

On Friday, I took another easy run commute. I was feeling the after effects of the previous two days and needed to take it easy before racing a 10k trail run in St. Louis. Julia found the Skippo race and signed us up for it, since we’d be in town for a weekend wedding and to visit her family.

The Saturday race was a ton of fun and tough running even for us altituders. For some reason the humidity at our destination races always negates any anticipated performance benefits from our elevation training.

Water Crossing !!!

The race took off and after a few heart-rate-spiking wrong turns, I found myself chasing the top 2 guys. I hung around them through the single track of the first 2 miles. Next up we’re the stairs, 200 or so wooden stairs. The leader took off double-stepping up the stairs, while I stuck with the other guy casually ascending the stairs one by one. The first place guy quickly disappeared, as I continued behind, allowing the 2nd place guy to do the work of course finding. It was fun trail with some flowing, yet root-y sections. After a midway river crossing it was mostly downhill for the final 2 miles. I dug pretty hard but couldn’t dent the lead of 2nd place dude. I had a good kick through the finish, and was relieved to be done racing after 38-1/2 minutes.

Julia finished as 3rd Place woman, continuing our podium matching program. Julia’s parents greeted us at the finish and took some sweet pics.

img_4893

Julia’s finishing stride!

After a brief afternoon nap, we made our way into the big city of St. Louis! We had a great time at the wedding. The dance floor was sizzlin.

Party time!

After a lazy Sunday morning, Julia woke me up from a noon-time nap to go to Mastodon State Park for a scenic trail run. We had fun among the colorful trees, and enjoyed the changing weather as thunder and accompanying rain rolled upon us.

It’s back to Denver on Monday morning.

Endurance Changes Time,

Turbo

 

Leave a Reply

